AI Case Brief
Generate an AI-powered case brief with:
đKey Facts
âïžLegal Issues
đCourt Holding
đĄReasoning
đŻSignificance
Estimated cost: $0.10â$0.50 per brief, depending on opinion length and retries
Full Opinion
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF UTAH MICHAEL VALENTINE, an individual, MEMORANDUM DECISION AND and CRYSTAL VALENTINE, an ORDER GRANTING IN PART AND individual, DENYING IN PART PLAINTIFFSâ MOTION TO AMEND OR RELIEVE Plaintiffs, PLAINTIFFS v. Case No. 2:22-cv-00815-RJS-CMR AUTO-OWNERS INSURANCE, Chief District Judge Robert J. Shelby Defendant. Magistrate Judge Cecilia M. Romero This case arises from Plaintiffs Michael and Crystal Valentineâs discovery of defects in their newly constructed home. After settling with the homeâs builder and owner-seller, Alpine Design Consultants, LLC, in Utah state court, the Valentines brought the instant case as assignees of Alpine Design against its Commercial General Liability (CGL) insurer, Auto- Owners Insurance.1 On February 5, 2024, the court entered a Memorandum Decision and Order granting Auto-Ownersâ Motion for Summary Judgment and denying the Valentinesâ Motion for Summary Judgment.2 Now before the court is the Valentinesâ Rule 59(e) and Rule 60(b) Motion to Amend or Relieve Plaintiffs3 from that Order. For the reasons explained below, the court GRANTS IN PART and DENIES IN PART the Motion. Specifically, the court affirms its finding that the damages to the Valentinesâ home are not covered because the Valentines and Alpine Design did 1 Dkt. 2, Complaint. 2 Dkt. 29, Memorandum Decision and Order Granting Defendantâs Motion for Summary Judgment and Denying Plaintiffsâ Motion for Partial Summary Judgment (Order). 3 Dkt. 30, Rule 59(e) and Rule 60(b) Motion to Amend or Relieve Plaintiffs from the Courtâs Memorandum Decision and Order (Motion to Amend). not comply with two of the Policyâs provisions. However, the court finds it erred in dismissing the Valentineâs breach of fiduciary duty claim and reverses its grant of summary judgment on that claim. BACKGROUND AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY4 The Valentines discovered serious defects when they moved into their newly constructed home, and sued the homeâs builder and owner-seller, Alpine Design, in Utah state court.5 Alpine Design tendered its defense to Auto-Owners, its CGL insurer, which defended Alpine Design subject to a Reservation of Rights.6 The Valentines and Alpine Design eventually settled without Auto-Ownersâ consent, ending the state litigation.7 As part of the settlement, Alpine Design assigned any claims it had against Auto-Owners to the Valentines.8 In December 2022, the Valentines filed the current case, asserting claims for declaratory judgment, breach of fiduciary duty, breach of contract, and breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing.9 In March 2023, the parties agreed to a bifurcated discovery plan.10 Specifically: [The parties] anticipate[d] the need for standard discovery . . . begin[ning] only after the briefing and [c]ourtâs decision on partially dispositive motions regarding coverage under the Policy. The partially dispositive motions shall only address whether Auto-Owners has a duty to indemnify the Valentines, through assignment, 4 The court assumes the partiesâ familiarity with the facts and procedural history of the case. As a result, the court focuses only on the relevant background and procedural history here. For a more detailed background, the court recommends reviewing Order at 3â10. 5 Id. at 1. 6 Id. 7 Id. 8 Id. at 1â2. 9 Id. at 2. 10 Dkt. 12, Attorney Planning Meeting Report. against the Judgment in the underlying Suit. No discovery is anticipated as it is believed the duty to indemnify question is a question of law.11 As planned, both the Valentines and Auto-Owners filed motions for summary judgment, seeking a resolution of whether the damages to the Valentinesâ home were covered by the CGL insurance policy (Policy).12 The Valentines sought only a partial motion for summary judgment, but Auto- Owners went further, asserting that, if âthere is no coverage at all . . . , summary judgment for all of Plaintiffsâ causes of action in this matter is appropriate.â13 While insurance motions at this stage are often resolved based on an evaluation of whether the damages were occurrences under the Policy not precluded by an exclusion, the court held the damages were not covered because Alpine Design and the Valentines did not comply with two contract provisions.14 Specifically, the court found Alpine Design and the Valentines ran afoul of the: (1) Legal Action Against Us provision, which states Auto-Owners can be sued only to recover on either an agreed settlement signed by Auto-Owners or âa final judgment against an insured obtained after an actual trial;â and (2) the Common Policy Conditions, which requires Auto-Owners to consent in writing to any transfer of the insuredâs rights and duties under the Policy.15 The Valentines did not contest that the plain language of the Policy provisions were violated.16 Instead, they argued the court should not apply traditional contract 11 Id. at 3â4. Similarly, the Report stated, âExcept for initial disclosures, no discovery is anticipated for Phase A, which will consist of the parties preparing and filing partially dispositive motions on the question of Auto-Ownerâs duty to indemnify the Valentines under the Policy. No factual discovery is anticipated. In the event it is determined by the parties that fact discovery is necessary in Phase A, the parties shall work to accomplish the same. . . . Phase A will conclude when the [c]ourt rules on the question of coverage under the Policy . . . .â Id. at 4. 12 Order at 2. 13 Dkt. 17, Defendant Auto-Owners Insurance Companyâs Motion for Summary Judgment (Auto-Ownersâ Motion for Summary Judgment) at 2. 14 Order at 2â3. 15 Id. 16 Id. at 14. interpretation to these provisions because the Valentines pled a tort claim (breach of fiduciary duty), and because Auto-Owners materially breached the contract first, relieving Alpine Design and the Valentines of their duty to perform the contract terms.17 The Valentines urged the court to follow Judge Tena Campbellâs analysis in Rupp v. Transcontinental Insurance Company,18 where she found the defendant insurers could not rely on breached contract provisions to overcome a tort claim for breach of fiduciary duty. However, the court declined to do so. It first identified Rupp as persuasive authority which dealt with only one of the two contract provisions at issue here.19 The court then compared the factual records before the Rupp court and the court here.20 It concluded, âTo overcome Auto-Ownersâ motion for summary judgment, the Valentines must do more than simply state Auto-Owners breached its fiduciary duties to the insured.â21 The court was concerned that, â[i]f the court were to rule in the Valentinesâ favor, it would mean simply pleading a breach of fiduciary duty claim while providing no evidentiary support would be sufficient to defeat an insurerâs motion for summary judgment invoking policy provisions limiting coverage.â22 Regarding the Valentinesâ invocation of the first breach rule, the court noted the brevity of the argument presented.23 The court held âthe Valentines offer no evidence to support their first breach rule argumentâ because they did not provide any evidence of a breach of contract or the materiality of the breach.24 17 Id. at 3. 18 627 F. Supp. 2d 1304 (D. Utah 2008). 19 Order at 16, 19. 20 Id. at 17â19. 21 Id. at 19. 22 Id. 23 Id. at 20. 24 Id. at 20â21. The Valentines now argue the court should reconsider its decision under Rules 59(e) and 60(b)(1) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Having considered the partiesâ briefs,25 and concluding oral argument would not be materially helpful,26 the Motion is now ripe for review. LEGAL STANDARD The Valentines invoke Rule 59(e) and 60(b)(1) in their Motion.27 Rule 59(e) allows a court to reconsider the substantive correctness of its prior judgment.28 Courts have limited discretion when ruling on a Rule 59(e) motion because âonce the district court enters judgment, the public gains a strong interest in protecting the finality of judgments.â29 A court may grant a Rule 59(e) motion only where it âhas misapprehended the facts, a partyâs position, or the controlling law.â30 Grounds warranting amendment of a judgment include: â(1) an intervening change in the controlling law, (2) new evidence previously unavailable, and (3) the need to correct clear error or prevent manifest injustice.â31 Here, the Valentines invoke the third category: clear error.32 While a Rule 59(e) motion is not an appropriate tool for relitigating old 25 Motion to Amend; Dkt. 35, Defendant Auto-Owners Insurance Companyâs Memorandum in Response to Plaintiffsâ Rule 59(e) and Rule 60(b) Motion to Amend or Relieve Plaintiffs from the Courtâs Memorandum Decision and Order (Opposition); Dkt. 38, Reply Memorandum Supporting Plaintiffsâ Rule 59(e) and Rule 60(b) Motion to Amend or Relieve Plaintiffs from the Courtâs Memorandum Decision and Order (Reply). 26 See DUCivR 7-1(g). 27 Motion to Amend at 2. 28 See Nelson v. City of Albuquerque, 921 F.3d 925, 928 (10th Cir. 2019) (â[A] motion constitutes a Rule 59(e) motion if it ârequests a substantive change in the district courtâs judgement or otherwise questions its substantive correctness.ââ) (quoting Yost v. Stout, 607 F.3d 1239, 1243 (10th Cir. 2010)). 29 Id. at 929. 30 Servants of the Paraclete v. Does, 204 F.3d 1005, 1012 (10th Cir. 2000). 31 Id. 32 Motion to Amend at 4 (âRule 59(e) relief is appropriate here because the [c]ourt misapprehended this caseâs procedural posture, improperly ruled on an issue not before it, and misapprehended the Valentinesâ breach of fiduciary duty claim.â). matters or introducing arguments or evidence âthat could have been raised prior to the entry of judgment,â33 parties may âreargue previously articulated positions to correct clear legal error.â34 The Valentines also invoke Rule 60(b)(1), which allows a court to relieve a party from a final judgment on âjust termsâ due to âmistake, inadvertence, surprise, or excusable neglect.â35 This relief is extraordinary because it sacrifices the preservation of finality in order to ensure justice is âdone in light of all the facts.â36 A mistake occurs â(1) [when] a party has made an excusable litigation mistake or an attorney in the litigation has acted without authority from a party, or (2) where the judge has made a substantive mistake of law or fact in the final judgment or order.â37 âIf the mistake alleged is a partyâs litigation mistake, [courts] have declined to grant relief under Rule 60(b)(1) when the mistake was the result of a deliberate and counseled decision by the party.â38 This includes a party who simply misunderstands the legal consequences of its deliberate actions.39 Instead, Rule 60(b)(1) contemplates only âlitigation mistakes that a party could not have protected against, such as the partyâs counsel acting without authority of the party to that partyâs detrimentâ or âfailure to comply with procedural rules.â40 33 Nelson, 921 F.3d at 929 (internal citations and quotations omitted). 34 Mayes Fam. Trust v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co., 845 F.3d 997, 1005 (10th Cir. 2017). 35 Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b)(1). 36 Jennings v. Rivers, 394 F.3d 850, 856 (10th Cir. 2005) (â[Rule 60(b)(1)] is an extraordinary procedure which seeks to strike a delicate balance between two countervailing impulses: the desire to preserve the finality of judgments and the incessant command of the court's conscience that justice be done in light of all the facts.â) (internal quotation marks omitted); see also Yapp v. Excel Corp., 186 F.3d 1222, 1231 (10th Cir. 1999) (âRelief under Rule 60(b), however, is âextraordinary and may only be granted in exceptional circumstances.ââ) (citing Cashner v. Freedom Stores, Inc., 98 F.3d 572, 576 (10th Cir. 1996)). 37 Cashner, 98 F.3d at 576 (citations omitted). 38 Id. at 577. 39 Id. 40 Id. (citations omitted). ANALYSIS I. The Standard Rules of Contract Interpretation Would Result in a Finding of No Coverage. Under Utah law, â[a]n insurance policy is merely a contract between the insured and the insurer and is construed pursuant to the same rules applied to ordinary contracts.â41 â[I]f the language within the four corners of the contract is unambiguous, the partiesâ intentions are determined from the plain meaning of the contractual language.â42 In a dispute over coverage, â[t]he burden of establishing coverage under an insurance policy is on the party who asserts that a loss comes within the coverage of the policy.â43 Then âthe insurer has the burden to demonstrate that exclusions exist under which it can deny coverage.â44 The Valentines contend that the provisions at issue are âexclusions,â so the burden rested with Auto-Owners to demonstrate âexclusions exist under which it can deny coverage.â45 41 Alf v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co, 850 P.2d 1272, 1274 (Utah 1993); see also Utah Farm Bureau Ins. Co. v. Crook, 1999 UT 47, ¶ 5, 980 P.2d 685 (âInsurance policies are generally interpreted according to the rules of contract interpretation.â). 42 Benjamin v. Amica Mut. Ins. Co., 2006 UT 37, ¶ 14, 140 P.3d 1210 (internal quotation marks omitted). 43 Cincinnati Ins. Co. v. AMSCO Windows, 921 F. Supp. 2d 1226, 1233 (D. Utah Feb. 5, 2013). 44 Am. Natâl Prop. & Cas. Co. v. Sorensen, 2013 UT App 295, ¶ 13, 362 P.3d 909. 45 Reply at 3. The court notes that the Valentines raise this argument for the first time in their Reply, depriving Auto- Owners of the opportunity to respond. And, although Auto-Owners does not explicitly make the argument, Auto- Ownersâ summary judgment brief framed its discussion of the provisions as conditions precedent to coverage, and the Valentines never disputed that framing. See, e.g., Auto-Ownersâ Motion for Summary Judgment at 36 (âThere was no compliance with the coverage terms under this part of the Policy.â); id. (âThe Common Policy Conditions of the Policy require certain conditions of the [P]olicy to be followed in order for there to be coverage. . . . The judgment and assignment of claims from [Alpine Design] to [the Valentines] does not comply with the Common Policy Conditions.â); id. at 37 (âThis consent is required and fatal if not obtained.â). The court conservatively analyzes the provisions as exclusions,46 and it is Auto-Ownersâ burden âto demonstrate that exclusions exist[ed] under which it can deny coverage.â47 Auto-Owners argued in its summary judgment briefing that the Valentines were not entitled to indemnification because Alpine Design and the Valentines violated two Policy provisions: the Legal Action Against Us provision and the Common Policy Conditions regarding assignment.48 The Valentines did not contest that the plain language of the Policy provisions was violated. Therefore, the court concluded â[t]he settlement was not signed by Auto-Owners, violating the Legal Action Against Us provision, and Auto-Owners did not provide written consent for the assignment of Alpine Designâs rights under the contract, violating the Common Policy Conditions.â49 If the court limited its evaluation to the standard rules of contract interpretation, âthe Policyâs provisions . . . would preclude coverage and bar this lawsuit.â50 II. The Court Evaluatedâand Found Unpersuasiveâthe Valentinesâ Argument Relying on Rupp v. Transcontinental Insurance Company. To avoid this outcome, the Valentines argued in opposition to Auto-Ownersâ summary judgment motion that âas a matter of law, it is inappropriate to apply the Conditions when there 46 At least one other federal court has interpreted the Legal Action Against Us provision as âa condition, with which [a] plaintiff must comply prior to bringing a lawsuit against [a] defendant for breach of contract [because] â[w]hen an insurance policy explicitly makes compliance with a term in the policy a condition precedent to coverage, the insured has the burden of establishing that it complied with that term.ââ Garcia v. Mercury Cas. Co., No. 2:16- CV)1658-JCM-NJK, 2017 WL 2345615, at *3 (D. Nev. May 26, 2017) (quoting Valentine v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 105 F. Supp. 3d 1176, 1182 (D. Nev. Apr. 27, 2015)). While Garcia is based on Nevada law, Utah case law suggests Utah courts may consider at least the Legal Action Against Us provision as a condition precedent rather than a covenant, because â[w]ords such as âon condition that,â âif,â and âprovided,â are words of condition, and in the absence of indication to the contrary, the employment of such words in a contract creates conditions precedent.â McArthur v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 2012 UT 22, ¶ 32, 274 P.3d 981 (citation omitted). Nevertheless, the court chooses to analyze the provisions as exclusions, putting the burden on Auto-Owners. 47 Sorensen, 2013 UT App 295, ¶ 13. 48 Order at 13. 49 Id. at 14 (citing Dkt. 18-4, Settlement and Assignment Agreement at 10â12; Auto-Ownersâ Motion for Summary Judgment at 38). 50 Id. is a pending breach of fiduciary duty claim,â relying on Rupp.51 Auto-Owners did not engage significantly with Rupp, but contended it was entitled to judgment as a matter of law notwithstanding Rupp.52 According to the Valentines, Auto-Owners never satisfied its âinitial burden of . . . entitlement to judgment as a matter of lawâ because it never refuted the Valentinesâ argument that Rupp precluded application of contract principles.53 By considering the facts presented, the Valentines contend, the court impermissibly shifted the burden to the Valentines.54 The Valentines relied solely on Rupp to support their argument that âit is inappropriate to apply the Conditions when there is a pending breach of fiduciary duty claim.â55 The court began its summary judgment analysis by identifying Rupp, a 2008 decision in the District of Utah, as persuasive authority. And because it was persuasive authority, the court was not bound by its holding.56 The court additionally noted that Rupp did not address the Common Policy Conditions, nor did the Valentines explicitly argue that its holding should be extended to reach this clause.57 51 Reply at 4; Rupp v. Transcon. Ins. Co., 627 F. Supp. 2d 1304 (D. Utah Nov. 17, 2008). 52 Dkt. 23, Defendant Auto-Owners Insurance Companyâs Reply Memorandum in Support of its Motion for Summary Judgment (Auto-Ownersâ Summary Judgment Reply) at 16. 53 Adler v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 144 F.3d 664, 670â71 (10th Cir. 1998) (citing Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323 (1986)). When determining summary judgment, the court applies a burden-shifting analysis. The party moving for summary judgment âbears the initial burden of making a prima facie demonstration of the absence of a genuine issue of material fact and entitlement to judgment as a matter of law.â Id. 54 Reply at 5â6. 55 Id. at 4. 56 Order at 16 (âBecause the Utah Supreme Court has not yet addressed the issue of whether the Legal Action Against Us provision could serve as a bar to a bad faith claim, the Rupp court proffered its best prediction. While it is persuasive authority, this court is not bound to follow its conclusions.â) (citing Rupp, 627 F. Supp. 2d at 1324). 57 Id. at 19 (âBy arguing that no contract provision can serve as a bar where there is a bad faith claim against the insurer, the Valentines suggest Ruppâs logic should be extended to reach [the Common Policy Conditions] clause as well. However, this argument is not clearly presented to the court.â) (citing to Dkt. 19, Plaintiffsâ Memorandum in Opposition to Motion for Summary Judgment (Valentinesâ Summary Judgment Opposition) at 20). Because Rupp was only persuasive authority, the court was required to evaluate whether it was adequately persuaded that the circumstances of this case warranted application of Rupp. In other words, the court asked whether it should follow binding Utah precedent instructing the court to interpret the Policy according to contact interpretation principles or whether it should follow the analysis in Rupp. The court would follow Rupp only if it was sufficiently analogous to serve as persuasive precedent, especially since the Valentinesâ argument required the court to expand Ruppâs reasoning to additional Policy provisions. It is in that context that the court began examining the differences in the factual presentation of the two cases.58 By comparing the facts of each case, the court could evaluate whether it was persuaded that the legal rationale should be extended. The facts were not outside of the scope of the work this court was required to undertake to assess the Valentinesâ argument; they were part of the courtâs legal analysis. The Valentines put the facts at issue by advancing an argument that relied on persuasiveânot bindingâ precedent. The court was required to evaluate the facts irrespective of whether âAuto- Owners . . . argued the Valentines failed to create a factual dispute,â59 to resolve the legal question of whether it should follow Rupp. In other words, had the Valentines presented a factual record similar to the record before Judge Campbell in Rupp, which demonstrated a genuine dispute over material facts necessitating a trial, the court may have decided it warranted extending Ruppâs persuasive precedent. But the factual records were dissimilar, so the court declined to follow Rupp and instead applied straight-forward contract interpretation principles. 58 Id. at 17â18 (â[T]he record before the Rupp court enabled it to conclude there were genuine issues of material fact requiring a trial on the merits. . . . In light of the record presented, the Rupp court concluded, â[t]he question of whether the insurers acted in bad faith âturn[ed] on factual issues to be determine by a jury after consideration of all the evidence.ââ . . . But, in contrast with Rupp, the Valentines offer little evidence to support th[e] statement [that âAuto-Owners breached its fiduciary duties to [Alpine Design]â].â). 59 Motion to Amend at 5. Under contract law, Auto-Owners demonstrated that it was entitled to summary judgment on the issue of coverage. While the Order could have more carefully delineated the steps of the courtâs legal analysis, the court remains convinced the analysis and outcome were correct based on the arguments advanced by the parties. Reliance on the facts was necessary to evaluate the strength of the Valentinesâ legal arguments. Therefore, the court did not resolve summary judgment on grounds not argued by a party. III. The Valentines Bore the Burden to Demonstrate a Genuine Issue of Material Fact for Trial on Their First Breach Defense. The Valentines assert the court incorrectly shifted the burden to the Valentines to demonstrate a genuine issue of material fact on their first breach defense.60 The Valentines âargu[ed] that, as a matter of law, it is inappropriate to apply the Conditions when there is a . . . first breach defense.â61 In other words, âeven if the claims did sound in contract, the [P]olicy provisions relied upon by Auto-Owners . . . would not be enforceable under the First Breach Rule.â62 However, unlike the breach of fiduciary duty claim above, the Valentinesâ first breach argument sounds exclusively in contract. As a result, when Auto-Owners established that the relevant Policy provisions had been breached, it satisfied its âinitial burden of making a prima 60 Reply at 2â4. 61 Id. at 4. 62 Order at 20 (quoting Dkt. 16, Plaintiffsâ Motion for Partial Summary Judgment at 13); see also Valentinesâ Summary Judgment Opposition at 20 n.11 (âEven if the claims did sound in contract rather than tort, the First Breach Rule would apply to alleviate any requirement to comply with the policy terms after Auto-Owners breached its duties to [Alpine Design].â). facie demonstration of the absence of a genuine issue of material fact and entitlement to judgment as a matter of law.â63 Once the moving party satisfies its initial burden, âthe burden then shifts to the nonmoving party to make a showing sufficient to establish that there is a genuine issue of material fact regarding the existence of [the disputed] element.â64 And because the Valentines invoke the first breach rule as an affirmative defense, they would have the burden of proof at trial.65 The Valentines were required to âgo beyond the pleadings and set forth specific facts that would be admissible in evidence in the event of a trial from which a rational trier of fact could find for the nonmovant.â66 As the court found in its Order, the Valentines did not identify the elements of a breach or present evidence regarding the materiality of Auto-Ownersâ breach.67 âConclusory allegations . . . cannot be utilized to avoid summary judgment.â68 IV. It Was Not the Courtâs Duty to Invoke Bifurcation or Rule 56(d). The court understands that the bifurcated discovery made it difficult for the Valentines to adequately establish a factual record that would have persuaded the court to extend Ruppâs analysis or find an issue of material fact necessitating trial on the first breach defense. But the Valentines could have invoked Rule 56(d).69 They did not, and the burden to do so was on them.70 63 Adler, 144 F.3d at 670â71 (citing Celotex, 477 U.S. at 323). 64 Johnson v. City of Bountiful, 996 F. Supp. 1100, 1102 (D. Utah Mar. 9, 1998). 65 Accesslex Inst. v. Philpot, 2023 UT App 21, ¶ 18, 526 P.3d 1282 (âWhile a plaintiff bears the burden of proving its own claims, a defendantâat least in civil casesâbears the burden of proof with regard to affirmative defenses.â). 66 Adler, 144 F.3d at 671 (internal quotation marks omitted). 67 Order at 20â21. 68 Pasternak v. Lear Petroleum Expl., Inc., 790 F.2d 828, 834 (10th Cir. 1986). 69 See Order at 19 n.132. 70 Rule 56(d) allows a non-movant to âshow[] by affidavit or declaration that, for specified reasons, it cannot present facts essential to justify its opposition[.]â Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(d). It was not Auto-Ownersâ duty to argue that âthe The Valentines cite several cases from sister circuits for the proposition that â[c]ourts faced with similar circumstances refused to resolve issues outside the scope of the bifurcated issues.â71 However, in each of the cited cases, the non-moving party raised the discovery issue with the court and said it was unable to respond properly because of the bifurcated discovery.72 The court did not find an instance in the Tenth Circuit where a district court has invoked sua sponte bifurcated discovery as a reason to either deny or stay a motion for summary judgment. In contrast, the court found only additional cases where the non-moving party invoked bifurcated discovery to urge the court to deny or stay a motion for summary judgment.73 Here, the Valentines mentioned the bifurcated discovery only in oral arguments, and they never argued the court should invoke Rule 56(d) if discovery was required.74 It would have been improper and Valentines . . . failed to seek time to conduct discovery under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(d).â Motion to Amend at 5. It was the Valentinesâ duty to seek the discovery if they thought it was needed. 71 Motion to Amend at 6 (citing Kelsey v. Withers, 718 F. Appâx 817 (11th Cir. 2017); Wassall v. DeCaro, 91 F.3d 443 (3d Cir. 1996)). 72 In Kelsey v. Withers, the plaintiffs objected to having to respond to defendantâs motion for summary judgment. 718 F. Appâx. at 819 (âAt the plaintiffsâ request . . . .â); see also Transcript of Telephone Conference Proceedings Held on 6/1/2016 at 4:3â9, Kelsey v. Withers, No. 1:14-CV-02357-LMM, (N.D. Ga. Oct. 19, 2016), ECF No. 116 (âI understand that the plaintiff[s] object[] to having to respond to that because there was an agreement in place between the parties . . . and the plaintiffs believe that they need additional discovery to respond to the motion for summary judgment.â). Similarly, in Wassall v. DeCaro, the Third Circuit reversed the district courtâs grant of defendantâs motion for summary judgment. 91 F.3d at 444. Defendant argued there was an alternative basis to affirm summary judgment, and â[p]laintiffs argue[d] that, because discovery was limited to the Muhammad issue, affirming on this ground would be unfair.â Id. at 450. The Third Circuit agreed that â[b]ecause discovery was bifurcated at [defendantâs] request, we will not affirm on this alternative ground.â Id. at 451. 73 See, e.g., Barton v. Waechter, L.L.C., No. CV 06-1349-MLB, 2008 WL 11439344, at *6 (D. Kan. Jan. 3, 2008) (denying defendantâs motion for summary judgment because âPlaintiff points out that discovery in this litigation was bifurcated, and . . . âdiscovery is not yet complete as to the issueââŠ.â); Gagnon v. Merit Energy Co., LLC, No. 14- CV-00832-PAB-KLM, 2015 WL 3961174, at *1 (D. Colo. June 29, 2015) (denying plaintiffsâ motion for summary judgment as premature because âplaintiffsâ motion for summary judgment violates the scheduling order, which bifurcated discovery on class certification and liability issuesâ and responding ârequires . . . discovery from plaintiffsâ experts and time for [defendant] to identify its own rebuttal expertsâ); Brown v. Unified Sch. Dist. No. 501, No. 17-CV-2390-JWL, 2018 WL 5112271, at *3 (D. Kan. Oct. 19, 2018) (striking portions of defendantâs motion for summary judgment because âthe magistrate judge, per the partiesâ agreement, bifurcated discovery in this case and contemplated an âearlyâ summary judgment motion based solely on defendantâs procedural defensesâ). 74 Dkt. 30-1, Transcript of Motion Hearing on November 28, 2023 at 40:3â18 (âTHE COURT: Letâs just say that I donât follow Judge Campbell and Rupp. Then are we not left with a factual dispute that prevents me from applying your [first breach] defense? Then I am left with the plain language of the contract, and I donât think that means summary judgment for the carrier either, but there has been no determination of bad faith. MS. STEFFEY: Correct, because we divided fact discovery. . . . [W]e wanted to have the interpretation of the contract first. . . . So if Your contrary to the plain language of Rule 56(d) for the court to invoke sua sponte the partiesâ agreement to bifurcate discovery. V. The Court Erred in Dismissing the Valentinesâ Breach of Fiduciary Duty Claim. The Valentines argue that the court erred in dismissing their breach of fiduciary duty claim because âit misapprehended the claim.â75 The court agrees it erred. Specifically, Auto- Owners did not carry its burden to demonstrate its entitlement to summary judgment as a matter of law on this claim. Auto-Owners moved for summary judgment on all claims because â[a]ll of [the Valentinesâ] causes of action are based in contract and if Auto-Owners has no duty to indemnify for damages . . . then summary judgment on all causes of action is appropriate.â76 However, Auto-Owners never explained why a finding of no coverage necessitated dismissal of the Valentinesâ breach of fiduciary duty claim. Indeed, Auto-Owners suggested the two claims were not related: â[the Valentinesâ] allegations of breach of fiduciary duties are separate from the issue of coverage for the property damage.â77 And Auto-Owners never engaged with the relevant elements of a breach of fiduciary duty claim.78 Therefore, because Auto-Owners did not carry its burden to demonstrate its entitlement to summary judgment as a matter of law, the court erred in dismissing the Valentinesâ breach of fiduciary duty claim. Honor finds that Rupp does not apply and that the contractual provisions are in force, then discovery would need to occur in order to determine whether there was a breach by Auto-Owners and whether as a result the first breach rule applies.â). Contrary to the Valentinesâ argument that they did not have notice the court was considering the factual record, the court inquired about the âfactual dispute [] prevent[ing] [it] from applying [the Valentinesâ first breach] defense.â See Motion to Amend at 7. Beyond failing to argue Auto-Ownersâ summary judgment arguments invoking the Conditions provisions fell outside the bifurcation agreement, the Valentines responded to Auto-Ownersâ arguments on the meritsâthus inviting (if not requiring) the court to resolve the issues that were briefed. 75 Motion to Amend at 7. 76 Auto-Ownersâ Motion for Summary Judgment at 2. 77 Auto-Ownersâ Summary Judgment Reply at 16. 78 See Order at 18 (identifying the three elements: â(1) there was a substantial likelihood of an excess verdict; (2) Auto-Owners refused to settle within policy limits; and (3) it was unreasonable for Auto-Owners to reject the settlement offerâ). VI. Rule 60(b)(1) Does Not Provide Relief for the Valentinesâ Mistake. Rule 60(b)(1) permits a court to relieve a party from a final judgment on âjust termsâ due to âmistake, inadvertence, surprise or excusable neglect.â79 Such relief is extraordinary because it sacrifices the preservation of finality in order to ensure justice is âdone in light of all the facts.â80 The Valentines argue the court should amend its Order âbased on the Valentinesâ excusable litigation mistakeâ or âbased on [the courtâs] own substantive mistake of law.â81 Rule 60(b)(1)âs mistake provision is appropriate âwhere[] (1) a party has made an excusable litigation mistake . . . or (2) . . . the judge has made a substantive mistake of law or fact in the final judgment or order.â82 âExcusable litigation mistakes are not those which were the result of a deliberate and counseled decision by the complaining party.â83 In other words, âa party who simply misunderstands or fails to predict the legal consequences of his deliberate acts cannot later, once the lesson is learned, turn back the clock to undo those mistakes.â84 Here, the Valentines argue âtheir counsel misunderstood the partiesâ stipulation to bifurcate these proceedings.â85 In support, they cite Jolin v. Casto.86 There, the court issued a 79 Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b)(1). 80 Jennings, 394 F.3d at 856 (10th Cir. 2005) (quoting Cessna Fin. Corp. v. Bielenberg Masonry Contracting, Inc., 715 F.2d 1442, 1444 (10th Cir. 1983)) (emphasis removed). 81 Motion to Amend at 10â11. Regarding the courtâs substantive mistake of law, the Valentines refer to their earlier 59(e) arguments. The court denies the Valentinesâ Motion to Amend its decision on coverage but grants their Motion to Amend with respect to the Valentinesâ breach of fiduciary duty. Therefore, the court evaluates only whether the court should provide 60(b)(1) relief based on the Valentinesâ excusable litigation mistake. 82 Cashner, 98 F.3d at 576 (citations omitted). 83 Yapp, 186 F.3d at 1231 (citing Cashner, 98 F.3d at 577). Instead, âthe kinds of mistakes by a party that may be raised by a Rule 60(b)(1) motion are litigation mistakes that a party could not have protected against, such as the partyâs counsel acting without authority of the party to that partyâs detriment.â Cashner, 98 F.3d at 577 (citing Thompson v. Kerr-McGee Ref. Corp., 660 F.2d 1380, 1384â85 (10th Cir. 1981); Surety Ins. Co. of California v. Williams, 729 F.2d 581, 582â83 (8th Cir. 1984)). 84 Yapp, 186 F.3d at 1231 (citing Cashner, 98 F.3d at 577; Pelican Prod. Corp. v. Marino, 893 F.2d 1143, 1146 (10th Cir. 1990)). 85 Motion to Amend at 10. 86 238 F.R.D. 48 (D. Conn. 2006). notice that it would âdismiss this case for failure to prosecute absent action or explanation within 20 days.â*â Counsel filed no response because they incorrectly assumed that the notice did not apply to the case because âdiscovery was ongoing, it did not appear that âno actionâ had been taken.â** The court relied on Rule 60(b) to reopen the case because âcounselâs misreading of the [Local] Rule 41(a) notice, however misguided, appears to have been an honest mistake.âÂź? However, the Valentinesâ counsel here did not decline to take action but instead forcefully responded to Auto-Ownersâ argument. Counsel may have simply âfail[ed] to predict the legal consequencesâ that would result.â This is not the type of mistake contemplated by Rule 60(b)(1). CONCLUSION For the reasons stated above, the Valentinesâ Motion to Amendâ! is GRANTED IN PART and DENIED IN PART. Specifically, the court affirms its finding that the damages to the Valentinesâ home are not covered because the Valentines and Alpine Design did not comply with two of the Policyâs provisions. However, the court finds it erred in dismissing the Valentineâs breach of fiduciary duty claim and reverses its grant of summary judgment on that claim. The Clerk of Court is directed to reopen the case. SO ORDERED this 5" day of September 2024. BY THE COURT: United Stal#s Chief District Judge 87 Td. at 49. 88 Td. at 50. 89 Td. % Yapp, 186 F.3d at 1231 (citing Cashner, 98 F.3d at 577; Pelican Prod. Corp., 893 F.2d at 1146). Dkt. 30. 16
Case Information
- Court
- D. Utah
- Decision Date
- September 5, 2024
- Status
- Precedential